Greetings from Afar

Yesterday, a new email arrived in my business inbox. My arm went numb. With poetry and short stories on submission, I thought that email could only be a rejection notice. It had arrived much too soon for an acceptance.

I was wrong.

When my circulation resumed, I noticed that the sender’s name was unfamiliar. It wasn’t associated with any of the publications I had submitted to. In fact, the name seemed downright strange, a confused jumble of letters with too many consonants and not enough nouns. Or vice versa.

It came from Bulgaria.

“Dear Sir Michael Madson,” it began, detailing a request for correspondence. As I read, I realized the man had confused me for Michael Madsen, the actor of Kill Bill and Sin City notoriety. He would be honored, he said, to receive photos of me or material from my recent films.

I couldn’t help but chuckle. Earlier today, I finally replied to the email, explaining the mix up and providing a link to the official website of all things Madsen. Hopefully, my Bulgarian friend won’t be too disappointed. (Photos of the brawny-voiced actor start at $40.00).

Though misdirected, this email provided a welcome reprieve from my daily routine. As I grow older, I find that little oddities, like this unexpected greetings from afar, are the salt of daily existence.

~ by manjouming on June 4, 2008.

Leave a comment